International Council

Responsibilities of the International Council (IC) of The Duke of Edinburgh's International Award Association (IAA).

The roles and responsibilities of the IC are to:

  • Supervise the operational functions of the International Award Foundation (IAF);
  • Discuss and approve the agenda and arrangements for the Forum;
  • Act on behalf of the International Award Association (IAA) between Forum meetings;
  • Ensure that decisions made at the Forum are put into action;
  • Accept qualified National Award Operators (NAOs) into provisional membership of the IAA.

Meetings

The IC meets once a year, either at the Forum, International Gold Event (IGE) or at a specific IC meeting, depending on where we are in the three year cycle of events. The most recent IC meeting took place in Ghana in November 2018. 

Members

The International Council consists of the Trustees and the Secretary General of the International Award Foundation plus 12 regional representatives who were elected at Forum 2015 (three per region to represent the interests of national operators and independent centres in their region) and eight Emerging Leader Representatives who were elected at the IGE in 2017. The Rt Hon The Lord Boateng PC DL, UK is Chair of the IC.  

12 regional representatives as elected in 2015:

Africa

Togo

Komi Abitor, National Chair, kabitor@etd-ong.org

 

Seychelles

Fabian Palmyre, National Chair, fpalmyre@gov.sc

 

South Africa

Rochelle Josiah, National Chair, rochellej@talisgroup.co.za

Americas

Bahamas

Archdeacon James Palacious, National Chairman, jepalacious@gmail.com

 

Barbados

Stephen Smith, National Chairman, deiabarbados.chairman@gmail.com

 

Canada

Lou Gizzarelli, National Chair, L.Gizzarelli@neopost.com

Asia Pacific

Australia

Peter Kaye, National Director, ceo@dukeofed.com.au

 

Bangladesh

Sayeeful Islam, National Chairman, sayeeful@gmail.com

 

New Zealand

Karen Ross, National Director, karen@dofehillary.org.nz

EMAS

Czech Republic

Jiři Zrůst, National Chairman, jiri.zrust@macquarie.com

 

Gibraltar

Michael Pizzarello, National Director, mjpizza@gibtelecom.net

 

Netherlands

Pascalle Cup, National Director, pascalle.cup@award.nl

8 Emerging Leader Representatives elected in 2017:

Africa

Ghana

Jones Viduku, jonesviduku@gmail.com

 

South Africa

Monica Murray, mmurray9415@gmail.com

Americas

Barbados

Jamar Odwin, jamarodwin@gmail.com

 

Cayman Islands

Renece Willis-Bazil, Renece.willis@gmail.com

Asia Pacific

Hong Kong

Christopher Pang, Christopher1021994@hotmail.com

 

Sri Lanka

Tharindra Arumapperuma, tarumapperuma@gmail.com

EMAS

United Kingdom

James McClements, james.mcclements@dofe.org

 

Slovakia

Michaela Musilova, musilova@sosa.sk

International Foundation contacts:

Secretary General 

John May john.may@intaward.org

Regional Director - Africa 

Edwin Kimani

edwin.kimani@intaward.org

Regional Director - Americas

David Clarke CVO ADC 

david.clarke@intaward.org

Regional Director - Asia-Pacific

Sue Walker

sue.walker@intaward.org

Regional Director -EMAS

Melissa Stoakes 

melissa.stoakes@intaward.org

The Foundation and International Council thank the outgoing Emerging Leader Representatives for their dedication and commitment to the development of the Award over the last three years. 

 

Bronze Award holder Paulo Caetano and Director of Development Alberto Lidji speaking to Award supporters at Windsor Castle.

Prepared to join the job market: Paulo's story

Portugal

Taking part in the Award has given Paulo the confidence to communicate with people outside the deaf community.

Read more